Shopping cart is empty.

Colin McCahon Is This the Promised Land 02 1960 to 1987

Colin McCahon Is This the Promised Land 02 1960 to 1987
More Views

Colin McCahon (1919-1987) was New Zealand's greatest twentieth-century artist. Through landscapes, biblical paintings and abstraction, the introduction of words and Maori motifs, McCahon's work came to define a distinctly New Zealand modernist idiom. Collected and exhibited extensively in Australasia and Europe, McCahon's work has not been assessed as a whole for thirty-five years. In this richly illustrated two-volume work, written in an accessible style and published to coincide with the centenary of Colin McCahon's birth, leading McCahon scholar, writer and curator Dr Peter Simpson chronicles the evolution of the artist's work over McCahon's entire forty-five-year career. Simpson has enjoyed unprecedented access to McCahon's extensive correspondence with friends, family, dealers, patrons and others. This material enables us to begin to understand McCahon's work as the artist himself conceived it. Each volume includes over three-hundred illustrations in colour, with a generous selection of reproductions of McCahon's work (many never previously published), plus photographs, catalogue covers, facsimiles and other illustrative material. These books will be the definitive work on New Zealand's leading artist for many years to come.

Title: Colin McCahon Is This the Promised Land 02 1960 to 1987
Series: Colin McCahon
Format: Hardback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 09/04/2020
Price: $80.00
RRP: $80.00
Imprint: Auckland University Press
Publisher: Auckland University Press
ISBN: 9781869409081
Available stock: 1
  • Price: $80.00
add to cart