Shopping cart is empty.
 
117 Days
117 Days
Title: 117 Days
Author: FIRST RUTH
Format: Pack
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 01/02/2011
Price: $30.00
RRP: $30.00
Imprint: Virago
ISBN: 9781844086306
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $30.00
127 Hours
127 Hours
Title: 127 Hours
Author: RALSTON ARON
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Price: $30.00
RRP: $30.00
Imprint: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781849833905
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $30.00
1599 - a Year in the Life of Willam Shakespeare
1599 - a Year in the Life of Willam Shakespeare
Title: 1599 - a Year in the Life of Willam Shakespeare
Author: SHAPIRO JAMES
Edition: 01
Year: 0606
Format: Trade Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Price: $33.70
RRP: $33.00
Imprint: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571214815
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $33.70
21 Bringing Down the House (film)
21 Bringing Down the House (film)
Title: 21 Bringing Down the House (film)
Author: MEZRICH BEN
Edition: 01
Year: 0607
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Price: $27.60
RRP: $27.00
Imprint: Arrow
ISBN: 9780099498544
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $27.60
3096 Days
3096 Days
Title: 3096 Days
Author: KAMPUSCH NATASCHA
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 25/10/2010
Price: $30.70
RRP: $30.00
Imprint: Penguin Books
ISBN: 9780670919994
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $30.70
365 Thank Yous
365 Thank Yous
Title: 365 Thank Yous
Author: KRALIK JOHN
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 31/01/2011
Price: $26.00
RRP: $26.00
Imprint: Penguin Books
ISBN: 9780143565413
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $26.00
84 Charing Cross Road
84 Charing Cross Road
'This book is the very simple story of the love affair between Miss Helene Hanff of New York and Messrs Marks and Co, sellers of rare and secondhand books, at 84 Charing Cross Road, London'. DAILY TELEGRAPH Told in a series of letters in 84 CHARING CROSS ROAD and then in diary form in the second part THE DUCHESS OF BLOOMSBURY STREET, this true story has touched the hearts of thousands.

Title: 84 Charing Cross Road
Author: HANFF HELENE
Series: Virago Modern Classics
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 03/10/2002
Price: $28.00
RRP: $28.00
Imprint: Virago
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781860498503
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $28.00
A A Milne His Life
A A Milne His Life
A.A. Milne is one of the most successful English writers ever. His heart-warming creations-Winnie-the-Pooh, Christopher Robin, Eeyore, Tigger and Piglet-have become some of the best-loved children's characters of all time, and readers the world over are familiar with the stories from the Hundred Acre Wood.

Yet the man himself has remained an enigma. Although in many ways his behaviour was that of a typical golf-playing, pipe-smoking Englishman, Milne refused to be typecast, and his publishers despaired when he turned from writing popular columns for Punch to writing detective stories. They complained again when the detective writer presented them with a set of children's verse, but when When We Were Very Young became one of the best-selling books of all time, Milne's credibility as one of the world's favorite authors was sealed.

In this biography of Milne, Ann Thwaite reveals the man himself, in all his complexity. As W. A. Darlington put it in 1921, commenting on Milne's highly popular plays, `Mr Milne is obviously at heart (like all humorists) a serious person, with things to say.' He had strong political feelings, and was a pacifist even before his experiences on the Somme in 1916. There was always something darker and more tangled under `the bright glitter of surfaces'.

At his father's school, Milne was taught by the young H. G. Wells, who remained a lifelong friend; later, J. M. Barrie called him `my Mr Milne' and was `uncommon proud of him'; later still, P. G. Wodehouse became one of his greatest admirers, and a friend - but was then deeply hurt by Milne's strong reaction to the notorious wartime broadcasts. Milne's personal relationships, including those with his wife and son, were not always easy.

In A. A. Milne: His Life, Ann Thwaite has produced a vivid, sympathetic and entertaining portrait of both the man and his work, set in the context of his time, which stands as the definitive life of a writer whose work has earned some loathing (for its supposed `whimsy') but much more devotion among readers of all ages, not only in English-speaking countries but all over the world.

Title: A A Milne His Life
Author: THWAITE ANN
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 28/08/2014
Price: $72.00
RRP: $72.00
Imprint: Macmillan
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447253075
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $72.00
A Lie About My Father
A Lie About My Father
Title: A Lie About My Father
Author: BURNSIDE JOHN
Edition: 01
Year: 0604
Format: Hardback
Publishing status: Active
Price: $46.00
RRP: $45.00
Imprint: Jonathan Cape
ISBN: 9780224074872
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $46.00
A Scandalous Life: The Biography of Jane Digby
A Scandalous Life: The Biography of Jane Digby
Title: A Scandalous Life: The Biography of Jane Digby
Author: Lovell, Mary
Year: 2008
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 30/05/2003
Price: $23.50
RRP: $23.50
Imprint: Fourth Estate
ISBN: 9781857024692
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $23.50
A to Z Great Modern Writers
A to Z Great Modern Writers
Artist and graphic designer Andy Tuohy turns his hand to the world of modern literature in this new instalment of the A-Z series. Rendered in his distinctive style, this new book features portraits of 52 key modern writers significant for their contribution to literature, with a whole host of names from across the world including Simone de Beauvoir, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Kazuo Ishiguro, Doris Lessing, Salman Rushdie and Vladimir Nabokov. Best-selling author Caroline Taggart provides a crib sheet of everything you need to know about each author: why they are important in the field of literature, a list of their must-read books, and a surprising fact or two about them. Alongside Andy's portraits, the book features additional imagery, including book covers and author photographs. A fun, easy guide to some of the best writers of modern times, this is a great gift for anyone who wants to broaden their literary horizons.

Title: A to Z Great Modern Writers
Author: TAGGART CAROLINE
Series: A-Z Great Modern Series
Format: Hardback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 09/03/2017
Price: $30.00
RRP: $30.00
Imprint: Octopus
Publisher: Octopus Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781844039135
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $30.00
A to Z of Wonder Women
A to Z of Wonder Women
Celebrate a whole alphabet of trailblazing, groundbreaking wonder women from around the world and through time, taking in Ada Lovelace, J. K. Rowling, Oprah Winfrey and every letter in between.

Men and women, boys and girls need heroes to look up to, and to aspire to be. There are thousands upon thousands of books and films about amazing athletes, scientists, artists and explorers, but they're almost all men. Girls get princesses and mermaids - sure, not necessarily the worst career choices, but there aren't enough castles and beaches for the world's 3.5 billion women.

This book brings incredible women out of the shadows, celebrates their success and acknowledges their achievements. Certain to empower and inspire women and girls everywhere, it's perfect for fans of The Little Book of Feminist Saints, Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and We Should All Be Feminists.

Title: A to Z of Wonder Women
Author: LIN YVONNE
Format: Hardback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 04/10/2018
Price: $20.00
RRP: $20.00
Imprint: Wren & Rook
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781526361547
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $20.00