Shopping cart is empty.
 
Ko Hea Rauako Ruru
Ko Hea Rauako Ruru
Title: Ko Hea Rauako Ruru
Author: SHALLCRASS LAURA
Format: Hardback
Publishing status: Active
Price: $30.00
RRP: $30.00
Imprint: Beatnik Publishing
ISBN: 9780995118065
Available stock: 2
Price: $30.00
Korero Mai with CD
Korero Mai with CD
This children's picture book is in te reo Maori. It includes a song CD. No prior knowledge of te reo Maori is required by the children or adults using the book. The story/song helps children and teachers to practise a mihi or pepeha greeting. Each Te Reo Singalong book features easy-to-learn sentence structures in te reo. Sample sentences are: Ko wai to ingoa? Ko wai to maunga? Ko wai to awa? By putting on the song CD and opening the book, the reader can join in with the song and follow the pictures as they enjoy the book. The book contains a glossary, English translation, guitar chords and a list of extension ideas for parents and teachers. The book is number 10 in an award winning series called Te Reo Singalong, which won at the Maori Language Awards in November 2013 and was also a finalist in 2014.

Title: Korero Mai with CD
Author: HOLT SHARON
Series: Te Reo Singalong
Format: Picture Flat
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 09/07/2015
Price: $25.00
RRP: $25.00
Imprint: EduMaxi Ltd
Publisher: The Writing Bug Ltd
ISBN: 9780994117113
Available stock: 2
Price: $25.00
Korero Maori ai au I Speak Maori with CD
Korero Maori ai au I Speak Maori with CD
Title: Korero Maori ai au I Speak Maori with CD
Author: HOLT SHARON
Format: Picture Flat
Publishing status: Active
Price: $25.00
RRP: $25.00
Imprint: EduMaxi Ltd
ISBN: 9780473416782
Available stock: 2
Price: $25.00
Kupapa the Bitter Legacy of Maori Alliances with the Crown
Kupapa the Bitter Legacy of Maori Alliances with the Crown
Kupapa has been variously defined as being neutral (in a quarrel), being loyal, being an ally, or being a traitor. The word itself has come to be as hotly contested as its history. The Treaty of Waitangi struck a bargain between two parties: the Crown and Maori. Its promises of security, however, were followed from 1845 to 1872 by a series of volatile and bloody conflicts commonly known as the New Zealand Wars. Many people today believe that these wars were fought solely between the Crown and Maori, when the reality is that Maori aligned with both sides - resulting in three participants with differing viewpoints. It is rarely recognised, for instance, that Te Wherowhero, later the first Maori King, was originally a strong supporter of the Crown; or that the numbers of Maori who aligned with the Crown or were neutral probably exceeded those who fought against it. Or that the frontline combat over the final two years was fought almost exclusively between opposing Maori forces. * * * Captivating, comprehensive and thought-provoking, Kupapa addresses those realities, the complex Treaty-related reasons for them, and the cynical use of Maori by the Crown for its own purposes.
In the vein of Belich, Binney and Salmond, author Ron Crosby, a lawyer and recent member of the Waitangi Tribunal, provides an unstinting examination that - for the first time ever - focuses on a critical component of what Maori might consider New Zealand's very own civil wars. An important work that gives voice to an unspoken chapter of New Zealand history.

Title: Kupapa the Bitter Legacy of Maori Alliances with the Crown
Author: CROSBY RON
Format: Hardback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 26/08/2015
Price: $65.00
RRP: $65.00
Imprint: Penguin Books
Publisher: Penguin Group (NZ)
ISBN: 9780143573111
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $65.00
Kura Koiwi Bone Treasures
Kura Koiwi Bone Treasures
Brian Flintoff is one of New Zealand's foremost bone carvers. Though he is pakeha, it is his journey into the world of Maori art that has provided him with his greatest inspiration and direction as a carver. The knowledge, sensitivity and skill that he brings to his work has seen him gain enormous respect within both the Maori and European worlds, and his carvings are treasured as taonga throughout the country. Kura Koiwi is both a personal account of Brian Flintoff's career as a carver, but also an important exploration of Maori art and how it relates to carving. Heavily illustrated with exquisite examples of his, and other people's work, this book explains the mythology and symbolism behind his work, and in doing so provides an inspiring window into the power and beauty of our indigenous culture. Conceived as a sister publication to Taonga Puoro: Singing Treasures, his acclaimed earlier book on Maori musical instruments, Kura Koiwi is an elegant and insightful contribution to the literature about Maori art that will be cherished by any who cares about this culture.

Title: Kura Koiwi Bone Treasures
Author: FLINTOFF BRIAN
Format: Trade Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 01/08/2011
Price: $40.00
RRP: $40.00
Imprint: Craig Potton
Publisher: Craig Potton Publishing
ISBN: 9781877517396
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $40.00
Kuwi & Friends Maori Picture Dictionary
Kuwi & Friends Maori Picture Dictionary
A fun, easy-to-use resource for those wanting to discover, learn and use everyday words in te reo Maori. The illustrations are designed to help with comprehension, particularly for younger learners. Visual cues can assist with retention of language, to recall spoken and written words. 68 fully illustrated pages, in a large format (265 x 366mm), in vibrant full colour, with over 1000 te reo Maori words, translated into English. Embedded with gorgeous Kuwi the kiwi (and friends) illustrations. Designed for everyday use, in the whanau (family), kura (school) and for all New Zealanders. Ages 0-100+.
A portion of each sale goes to charity Kiwis for kiwi

Title: Kuwi & Friends Maori Picture Dictionary
Author: QUIN KAT
Series: Kuwi and Friends
Year: 2020
Format: Hardback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 01/02/2020
Price: $35.00
RRP: $35.00
Imprint: Miscellaneous
Publisher: Illustrated Publishing
ISBN: 9780994136497
Available stock: 5
Price: $35.00
Last Maopo The Life & First World War Sacrifice of Wiremu Maopo
Last Maopo The Life & First World War Sacrifice of Wiremu Maopo
The incredible, moving story of Wiremu Maopo, the last of his line in an eminent South Island family, who joined the second Maori Contingent and went off to fight in the First World War. Wiremu writes regularly to his friend Virgie, and the story of Wiremu's life is woven around 40 letters that he penned during the War. All of Wiremu's siblings died of illness either in childhood or later in life and when he returns from the war ironically he is the only surviving member of the once large family. Wiremu was unaware during and after the war that his girlfriend Phoebe had given birth to a daughter who would carry on his line. The Last Maopo also follows Phoebe's story and reconnects the Maopo line with the author, Wiremu's great-granddaughter.

Title: Last Maopo The Life & First World War Sacrifice of Wiremu Maopo
Author: SIMPSON TANIA
Format: Trade Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 10/04/2014
Price: $35.00
RRP: $35.00
Imprint: Libro International
Publisher: Oratia Media
ISBN: 9781877514661
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $35.00
Mahi Tahi
Mahi Tahi
This children's picture book is in te reo Maori. It includes a song CD. No prior knowledge of te reo Maori is required by the children or adults using the book. The story/song is about teamwork. Each Te Reo Singalong book features easy-to-learn sentence structures in te reo. This book also teaches te reo words for zoo animals and instructions such as "give me five", "run fast" and "walk carefully". By putting on the song CD and opening the book, the reader can join in with the song and follow the actions and sounds as they enjoy the book. The back of the book contains a glossary, English translation, guitar chords and a list of extension ideas for parents and teachers. The book is number 9 in an award winning series called Te Reo Singalong, which won at the Maori Language Awards in November 2013 and was also a finalist in 2014.

Title: Mahi Tahi
Author: HOLT SHARON
Series: Te Reo Singalong
Format: Picture Flat
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 12/02/2015
Price: $25.00
RRP: $25.00
Imprint: EduMaxi Ltd
Publisher: The Writing Bug Ltd
ISBN: 9780473423506
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $25.00
Mahiara Roadworks in Maori
Mahiara Roadworks in Maori
A boisterous picture book full of noisy fun for machine-mad kids. Roadworks is made with machine-mad pre-school boys in mind, though girls will also love the exciting noise-words, rhythms and rhymes. Roadworks aims to differ from other machine books in that it shows an actual project being completed from start to finish, in this case, the building of a road.

Title: Mahiara Roadworks in Maori
Author: SUTTON SALLY
Format: Picture Flat
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 01/10/2010
Price: $20.00
RRP: $20.00
Imprint: Walker Books
Publisher: Walker Books Australia
ISBN: 9781921720178
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $20.00
Manawa Hine (women Who Swam Against the Tide)
Manawa Hine (women Who Swam Against the Tide)
Title: Manawa Hine (women Who Swam Against the Tide)
Author: RIKIHANA QUEENIE
Format: Picture Flat
Publishing status: Active
Price: $20.40
RRP: $20.00
Imprint: Reed Books
ISBN: 9780790011141
Temporarily out of stock
Price: $20.40
Maori at Home A Guide for Everyday Families
Maori at Home A Guide for Everyday Families
Kei hea o putu whutuporo? Where are your rugby boots? Homai te ranu tomato Pass me the tomato sauce Kei te pehea te huarere i tenei ra? How is the weather today? Kei hea to mahi kainga? Where is your homework? Kati te whakaporearea i to tuahine! Stop annoying your sister! Maori at Home is the perfect introduction to the Maori language. A highly practical, easy and fun resource for everyday New Zealanders, it covers the basics of life in and around a typical Kiwi household. Whether you're practising sport, getting ready for school, celebrating a birthday, preparing a shopping list or relaxing at the beach, Maori at Home gives you the words and phrases - and confidence - you need.

Title: Maori at Home A Guide for Everyday Families
Author: MORRISON SCOTTY & STACEY
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 28/08/2017
Price: $35.00
RRP: $35.00
Imprint: Raupo
Publisher: Penguin Group (NZ)
ISBN: 9780143771470
Available stock: 6
Price: $35.00
Maori at Work
Maori at Work
Anei te rarangi take mo ta tatou hui
Here is the agenda for our meeting

Ae, e tuwhera ana tenei whare
Yes, we are open

Mo te takaroa o tenei whakautu
Apologies for the delayed response

Me mau potae maro
Safety hats must be worn

Hika ma, i kino te huarahi i te ra nei!
Wow, the traffic was shocking this morning!

A simple, practical and engaging guide to using the Maori language in and around your workplace.

Maori at Work offers phrases and tips for greetings and welcoming people, emails and letters, speeches and social media, with specific chapters on the office, construction and roadworks, retail, hospitality, broadcasting and teaching.

This is the perfect book to start or expand your te reo journey - no matter your skill level!

Title: Maori at Work
Author: MORRISON SCOTTY
Format: Paperback
Publishing status: Active
Publication date: 03/09/2019
Price: $35.00
RRP: $35.00
Imprint: Penguin Books
Publisher: Penguin Group (NZ)
ISBN: 9780143773344
Available stock: 3
Price: $35.00